Kallista Market

It was a great day on Saturday up at Kallista. Even though it was freezing, there was a fantastic atmosphere. There was a fire burning, music playing, great food and a good variety of stalls. I met some REALLY nice people. My stall next-door neighbour Vicki makes gorgeous ceramic brooches, pendants and clocks. She and I and Amy (lovely person who organises the market) had such a good chat and giggle. I met a few artists who live up there and had some lovely customers. Feedback on my work was great and I really felt a part of a community. I highly recommend this market to anyone who likes to get out in the hills.

When I got home, I applied to have a stall at the Emu Plains (Balnarring) markets which start up again on October 19. It’s a curated market and I was thrilled when Vanessa got back to me almost immediately with a ‘yes, please come along’. I’ve heard really good things about this market through other stallholders. I drove by yesterday morning after breakfast at Linton’s in Mt Eliza to have a look at the space. It’s at the Balnarring Racecourse on Coolart Road. Looking forward to October.

I have a bucket of jobs to do before then. I’m in the process of making a dress pattern for my ‘Annie Tunic’ so that I can offer that for sale. I wore my own to the ‘Craft and Quilt Fair’ a couple of weeks ago and got so many compliments that I thought I’d make it available for others to make up in their own choice of fabrics.

One thought on “Kallista Market

  1. Hi Sarah! Your “stall buddy for the day” here 🙂
    It was SO nice to meet you at Kallista markets.
    I admire your work very much too! And, your fabrics are gorgeous – so love the way you work with dee-licious linen 🙂
    There’s something so honest, tactile and wonderfully traditional about working with it isn’t there?

    Looking forward to reading your future posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

